If you and your spouse have reached a point in your relationship where you’ve determined your marriage is unsalvageable, getting a divorce is the logical next step.
Unfortunately, divorce can be stressful, complicated, and drawn out. It can have a long-lasting effect on you both legally and mentally. Once you decide your marriage has reached a point where it cannot be fixed, you will need the assistance of an experienced divorce lawyer in Washington State.
At LaCoste Law, we’re here to help you get through the process of dissolving your marriage as quickly and painlessly as possible.
What You Need to Know About Divorces in Washington State
Once you decide to get a divorce in the state of Washington, it’s important to seek legal representation from an experienced, knowledgeable divorce lawyer. However, there are a few important details for you to keep in mind.
No-Fault State: Knowing that Washington is a no-fault state is significant because it means the state of Washington does not care why the marriage is ending or who is to blame. Once one member of a relationship declares that their marriage is “irretrievably broken,” the court will grant a divorce decree.
Community Property: In the state of Washington, it is assumed that any assets obtained or purchased while married belong to both you and your spouse. Unfortunately, this also applies to debts. The only – very specific – exceptions to this include inheritances and gifts given to a single person.
Fair and Equitable: Washington is not a 50/50 state, it is a “fair and equitable” state. This means assets and property gets divided based on what the court determines to be fair, not what is 50/50.
How Long Must You Be Legally Separated Before Divorcing in Washington State?
The minimum wait period to finalize a divorce in the state of Washington is 90 days of separation. Keep in mind, the 90-day clock does not start ticking until after you file for a Petition for Dissolution of Marriage and you serve your spouse with papers.
Does Adultery or Domestic Abuse Affect Divorce in Washington State?
Unfortunately, the state of Washington is a no-fault state. This means cheating and domestic violence have no bearing on whether or not the divorce process may start. The court does not care who caused the marriage to end or why. The court just cares that the marriage is broken and cannot be fixed.
Don’t Go Through Your Divorce Alone
There is no reason for you to endure the end of your marriage alone. Reach out to an experienced divorce attorney in Washington State—such as our team at LaCoste Law—to be your voice during this challenging time.
You can contact us at (509) 392-8000 or send us an email at firstname.lastname@example.org to discuss your divorce today.